Festive Award of the Peter Hans Hofschneider Professorship to CRC 841 Scientist

16 July 2012
The festive award ceremony of the Peter Hans Hofschneider Professorship to Dr. Samuel Huber took place at the Erika-Haus/UKE on 29 June 2012. Huber is investigating the messenger interleukin-22 (IL-22) of immune cells within the framework of the CRC 841 funded by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG). The Peter Hans Hofschneider Professorship is conferred every other year by the Swiss foundation “Stiftung Experimentelle Biomedizin” in honour of the life-time achievements of Prof. Dr. Dr. Peter Hans Hofschneider. The award includes the personal salary equivalent to that of an assistant professor, one graduate student position and material resources. The funding is initially limited to three years; an extension for another two years is possible.

Mr. Rudolf Rechsteiner, member of the foundation board, and the members of the foundation advisory board Prof. Dr. Sabine Werner (ETH Zürich), Prof. Dr. Michael Stürzl (Universitätsklinikum Erlangen) and Prof. Dr. Holger Wormer (Universität Dortmund) joined the ceremony. Furthermore, the former awardees of the Peter Hans Hofschneider Professorship Prof. Dr. Mathias Heikenwälder (TU München) and Prof. Dr. Andre Franke (Universität Kiel) attended the award ceremony and presented their research activities.

The Swiss science writer Reto Schneider has been awarded this year with the Peter Hans Hofschneider investigation award, which is endowed with 20,000 Swiss francs. Schneider is since 2006 deputy editor-in-chief of the NZZ Folio.

Dr. Samuel Huber und Prof. Dr. Sabine Werner
Dr. Samuel Huber and Prof. Dr. Sabine Werner